

INTERDEPARTMENTAL MEMORANDUM

April 18, 2024

To: Katie Baird Professor—UW Tacoma

Anirban Basu Professor – School of Pharmacy

Sara Billey Professor – College of Arts & Sciences, Natural Sciences Division
Ann Bostrom Professor – Evans School of Public Policy & Governance

Dafney Blanca Dabach Associate Professor – College of Education

Huck Hodge Professor—College of Arts & Sciences, Arts Division

Alexander Hollmann Associate Professor—College of Arts & Sciences, Humanities Division

Bill Howe Associate Professor – Information School

Kalei Kanuha Associate Dean and Teaching Professor – School of Social Work

Wooyoung Kim Associate Professor – UW Bothell Kari Lerum Associate Professor – UW Bothell

Celia Lowe Professor – College of Arts & Sciences, Social Sciences Division
Anne Lund Associate Teaching Professor – School of Public Health
Kathryn Rogers Merlino Associate Professor – College of Built Environments

L. Monika Moskal
 Professor—College of the Environment
 Tracy Popowics
 Associate Professor – School of Dentistry
 Terry Price
 Associate Teaching Professor – School of Law

David Raible Professor – Graduate School Interdisciplinary Programs

Gim Seow Associate Professor – UW Tacoma
Jennifer Sonney Associate Professor – School of Nursing
Karen Thomas-Brown Associate Dean – College of Engineering

Dan Turner Associate Dean and Teaching Professor – Michael G. Foster School of Business

Edith Wang Assistant Dean and Associate Professor – School of Medicine

A.J. Balatico President – GPSS ex-officio Jackie Belanger UW Libraries – ex-officio

Marissa Heringer Senior Director, Academic Partnerships—Continuum College — ex-officio

Sarah Nguyen Vice President of Internal Affairs – GPSS – ex-officio

From: Joy Williamson-Lott Dean of the Graduate School

Kima Cargill Graduate School Council Chair, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs- Graduate School

Meeting will be held in Loew Hall, Room 310, and by Zoom:

https://washington.zoom.us/j/98626171897

AGENDA

Graduate School Council for Thursday, April 18, 2024 2:30 pm to 4:00 pm

2:30 pm **Call to Order and Land Acknowledgement**

2:30 to 2:50 pm **Program Review: Department of Landscape Architecture**

College of Built Environments

Council will consider the academic program review of the Department of Landscape Architecture. The following guests will attend: Renée Cheng, Dean of the College of Built Environments, and Ken Yocom, Chair and Associate Professor in the Department of Landscape Architecture.

 Recusal: Council member Kathryn Merlino, Associate Professor in the Department of Architecture and Adjunct Associate Professor in the Department of Landscape Architecture, will recuse from the executive session.

2:50 to 3:10 pm **Pro**

Program Review: Department of Architecture College of Built Environment

Council will consider the academic program review of the Department of Architecture. The following guests will attend: Renée Cheng, Dean of the College of Built Environments, and Rick Mohler, Chair and Professor in the Department of Architecture.

• Recusal: Council member Kathryn Merlino, Associate Professor in the Department of Architecture, will recuse from the executive session.

3:10 to 3:30 pm

Program Review: Department of Bioengineering College of Engineering/School of Medicine

Council will consider the academic program review of the Department of Bioengineering. The following guests will attend: Nancy Allbritton, Dean of the College of Engineering, Shelly Sakiyama-Elbert, Vice Dean for Research and Graduate Education in the School of Medicine, and Princess Imoukhuede, Department Chair and Professor in the Department of Bioengineering.

- Recusal: Council member Edith Wang, Associate Professor in the Department of Pharmacology and Assistant Dean in the School of Medicine, will recuse from the executive session.
- Recusal: Council member Karen Thomas-Brown, Associate Dean of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion in the College of Engineering, will recuse from the executive session.

3:30 to 3:50 pm

Program Review: Department of Pharmacology School of Medicine

Council will consider the academic program review of the Department of Pharmacology. The following guests will attend: Shelly Sakiyama-Elbert, Vice Dean for Research and Graduate Education in the School of Medicine, and John Scott, Chair and Professor in the Department of Pharmacology.

• Recusal: Council member Edith Wang, Associate Professor in the Department of Pharmacology, will recuse from the executive session.

3:50 to 4:00 pm

2023-2024 Interim Reports

Council will receive informational updates on the following interim reports:

- College of Arts & Sciences
 - Department of Biology
 - Department of Communication
 - Department of English
 - o Henry M. Jackson School of International Studies
 - School of Music

Graduate School Council Meeting

April 18, 2024 - Page 3

- College of Built Environments
 - o Department of Construction Management
- UW Bothell
 - o School of Nursing and Healthcare Studies

Informational copies to:

- 1. Ana Mari Cauce, President
- 2. Vice Provost, Educational Outreach
- 3. Chairs and Directors of Academic Units
- 4. Chair, Faculty Senate
- 5. Provost and Executive Vice President
- 6. Vice Provost for Research
- 7. Deans of Colleges and Schools
- 8. Secretary of the Faculty
- 9. Graduate School Associate/Assistant Deans