

#### INTERDEPARTMENTAL MEMORANDUM

#### April 4, 2024

**To:** Katie Baird Professor—UW Tacoma

Anirban Basu Professor – School of Pharmacy

Sara Billey Professor – College of Arts & Sciences, Natural Sciences Division
Ann Bostrom Professor – Evans School of Public Policy & Governance

Dafney Blanca Dabach Associate Professor – College of Education

Huck Hodge Professor—College of Arts & Sciences, Arts Division

Alexander Hollmann Associate Professor—College of Arts & Sciences, Humanities Division

Bill Howe Associate Professor – Information School

Kalei Kanuha Associate Dean and Teaching Professor – School of Social Work

Wooyoung Kim Associate Professor – UW Bothell Kari Lerum Associate Professor – UW Bothell

Celia Lowe Professor – College of Arts & Sciences, Social Sciences Division
Anne Lund Associate Teaching Professor – School of Public Health
Kathryn Rogers Merlino Associate Professor – College of Built Environments

L. Monika Moskal
 Professor—College of the Environment
 Tracy Popowics
 Associate Professor – School of Dentistry
 Terry Price
 Associate Teaching Professor – School of Law

David Raible Professor – Graduate School Interdisciplinary Programs

Gim Seow Associate Professor – UW Tacoma
Jennifer Sonney Associate Professor – School of Nursing
Karen Thomas-Brown Associate Dean – College of Engineering

Dan Turner Associate Dean and Teaching Professor – Michael G. Foster School of Business

Edith Wang Assistant Dean and Associate Professor – School of Medicine

A.J. Balatico President – GPSS ex-officio Jackie Belanger UW Libraries – ex-officio

Marissa Heringer Senior Director, Academic Partnerships—Continuum College — ex-officio

Sarah Nguyen Vice President of Internal Affairs – GPSS – ex-officio

From: Joy Williamson-Lott Dean of the Graduate School

Kima Cargill Graduate School Council Chair, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs- Graduate School

### Meeting will be held in Loew Conference Room 310 and by Zoom:

https://washington.zoom.us/j/98626171897

#### **AGENDA**

Graduate School Council for Thursday, April 4, 2024 2:30 pm to 4:00 pm

2:30 pm Call to Order and Land Acknowledgement

2:30 to 2:50 pm **Program Review: UW Tacoma School of Engineering & Technology** 

Council will consider the academic program review of the UW Tacoma School of Engineering and Technology. The following guests will attend: Andrew Harris, Executive Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, and Raj Katti, Dean of the School of Engineering and Technology.

### 2:50 pm **Overview of Program Proposal**

Katie Hollenbach, Curriculum Specialist in the Graduate School Office of Academic Affairs, provides an overview of the program proposal from the Department of Aeronautics & Astronautics.

## 2:50 to 3:10 pm **Program Proposal: Department of Aeronautics & Astronautics College of Engineering**

Council will consider three new program proposals from the Department of Aeronautics & Astronautics:

- Graduate Certificate in Aerospace Control Systems
- Graduate Certificate in Aerospace Composite Structures
- Graduate Certificate in Modern Aerospace Structures

The following guests will attend: Kristi Morgansen, Professor and Chair of the Department of Aeronautics & Astronautics, Marco Salviato, Associate Professor in the Department of Aeronautics & Astronautics, and Dan Ratner, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs in the College of Engineering.

 Council member Karen Thomas-Brown, Associate Dean of Diversity, Equity & Inclusion in the College of Engineering, will recuse from the executive session.

# 3:10 to 3:30 pm **Program Review: Program on the Environment College of the Environment**

Council will consider the academic program review of the Program on the Environment. The following guests will attend: Maya Tolstoy, Dean of the College of the Environment, Gary Handwerk, Director of the Program on the Environment, and Kristi Straus, Associate Director of the Program on the Environment.

Informational copies to:

- 1. Ana Mari Cauce, President
- 2. Vice Provost, Educational Outreach
- 3. Chairs and Directors of Academic Units
- 4. Chair, Faculty Senate
- 5. Provost and Executive Vice President
- 6. Vice Provost for Research
- 7. Deans of Colleges and Schools
- 8. Secretary of the Faculty
- 9. Graduate School Associate/Assistant Deans