

INTERDEPARTMENTAL MEMORANDUM

February 1, 2024

To: Katie Baird Professor—UW Tacoma

Anirban Basu Professor – School of Pharmacy

Sara Billey Professor – College of Arts & Sciences, Natural Sciences Division
Ann Bostrom Professor – Evans School of Public Policy & Governance

Dafney Blanca Dabach Associate Professor – College of Education

Huck Hodge Professor—College of Arts & Sciences, Arts Division

Alexander Hollmann Associate Professor—College of Arts & Sciences, Humanities Division

Bill Howe Associate Professor – Information School

Kalei Kanuha Associate Dean and Teaching Professor—School of Social Work

Wooyoung Kim Associate Professor – UW Bothell Kari Lerum Associate Professor – UW Bothell

Celia Lowe Professor – College of Arts & Sciences, Social Sciences Division
Anne Lund Associate Teaching Professor – School of Public Health
Kathryn Rogers Merlino Associate Professor – College of Built Environments

L. Monika Moskal
 Professor—College of the Environment
 Tracy Popowics
 Associate Professor – School of Dentistry
 Terry Price
 Associate Teaching Professor – School of Law

David Raible Professor – Graduate School Interdisciplinary Programs

Gim Seow Associate Professor – UW Tacoma
Jennifer Sonney Associate Professor – School of Nursing
Karen Thomas-Brown Associate Dean – College of Engineering

Dan Turner Associate Dean and Teaching Professor – Michael G. Foster School of Business

Edith Wang Assistant Dean and Associate Professor – School of Medicine

A.J. Balatico President – GPSS ex-officio Jackie Belanger UW Libraries – ex-officio

Marissa Heringer Senior Director, Academic Partnerships—Continuum College — ex-officio

Sarah Nguyen Vice President of Internal Affairs – GPSS – ex-officio

From: Joy Williamson-Lott Dean of the Graduate School

Kima Cargill Graduate School Council Chair, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs- Graduate School

Meeting will be held in Loew Hall, Room 310, and by Zoom:

https://washington.zoom.us/j/98626171897

AGENDA

Graduate School Council for Thursday, February 1, 2024 2:30 pm to 4:00 pm

2:30 - 2:35 pm Call to Order and Land Acknowledgement

2:35 – 2:55 pm **Program Review—Department of Biological Structure**

School of Medicine

Council will consider the academic program review of the Department of Biological Structure. The following guests will attend: Vice Dean Shelly

of the Department of Biological Structure, and Thomas Reh, Professor in the Department of Biological Structure.

• Recusal: Council Member David Raible, Professor in the Department of Biological Structure, from the executive session.

2:55 – 3:15 pm **Program Review—Program on the Environment**College of the Environment

Council will consider the academic program review of the Program on the Environment. The following guests will attend: Dean Maya Tolstoy of the College of the Environment, Gary Handwerk, Director of the Program on the Environment, and Kristi Straus, Associate Director of the Program on the Environment.

3:15 - 3:20 pm **Overview of Program Proposal**

Presented by Katie Hollenbach, Curriculum Specialist in the Graduate School Office of Academic Affairs.

3:20 - 3:40 pm **Program Proposal— Graduate Certificate in Composite Structures:**Materials and Manufacturing College of Engineering

Council will consider a program proposal from the College of Engineering Dean's Office to offer a Graduate Certificate in Composite Structures: Materials and Manufacturing. The following guests will attend: Di Xiao, Chair of Materials Science & Engineering, Navid Zobeiry, Assistant Professor in Materials Science & Engineering, Aniruddh Vashisth, Assistant Professor in Mechanical Engineering, Alberto Aliseda, Professor and Chair of Mechanical Engineering, and Dan Ratner, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs of the College of Engineering.

• Recusal: Council member Karen Thomas-Brown of the College of Engineering from the executive session.

Informational copies to:

^{1.} Ana Mari Cauce, President

^{2.} Vice Provost, Educational Outreach

^{3.} Chairs and Directors of Academic Units

^{4.} Chair, Faculty Senate

^{5.} Provost and Executive Vice President

^{6.} Vice Provost for Research

^{7.} Deans of Colleges and Schools

^{8.} Secretary of the Faculty

^{9.} Graduate School Associate/Assistant Deans