

INTERDEPARTMENTAL MEMORANDUM

February 15, 2024

To: Katie Baird Professor—UW Tacoma

Anirban Basu Professor – School of Pharmacy

Sara Billey Professor – College of Arts & Sciences, Natural Sciences Division
Ann Bostrom Professor – Evans School of Public Policy & Governance

Dafney Blanca Dabach Associate Professor – College of Education

Huck Hodge Professor—College of Arts & Sciences, Arts Division

Alexander Hollmann Associate Professor—College of Arts & Sciences, Humanities Division

Bill Howe Associate Professor – Information School

Kalei Kanuha Associate Dean and Teaching Professor—School of Social Work

Wooyoung Kim Associate Professor – UW Bothell Kari Lerum Associate Professor – UW Bothell

Celia Lowe Professor – College of Arts & Sciences, Social Sciences Division
Anne Lund Associate Teaching Professor – School of Public Health
Kathryn Rogers Merlino Associate Professor – College of Built Environments

L. Monika Moskal Professor—College of the Environment
Tracy Popowics Associate Professor — School of Dentistry
Terry Price Associate Teaching Professor — School of Law

David Raible Professor – Graduate School Interdisciplinary Programs

Gim Seow Associate Professor – UW Tacoma
Jennifer Sonney Associate Professor – School of Nursing
Karen Thomas-Brown Associate Dean – College of Engineering

Dan Turner Associate Dean and Teaching Professor – Michael G. Foster School of Business

Edith Wang Assistant Dean and Associate Professor – School of Medicine

A.J. Balatico President – GPSS ex-officio Jackie Belanger UW Libraries – ex-officio

Marissa Heringer Senior Director, Academic Partnerships—Continuum College — ex-officio

Sarah Nguyen Vice President of Internal Affairs – GPSS – ex-officio

From: Joy Williamson-Lott Dean of the Graduate School

Kima Cargill Graduate School Council Chair, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs- Graduate School

Meeting will be held in Loew Hall, Room 310, and by Zoom:

https://washington.zoom.us/j/98626171897

AGENDA

Graduate School Council for Thursday, February 15, 2024 2:30 pm to 4:00 pm

2:30–2:50 pm Call to Order and Land Acknowledgement

Program Review—Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering College of Engineering

Council will consider the academic program review of the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering. The following guests will attend: Dean Nancy Allbritton of the College of Engineering, and Eric Klavins, Professor and Department Chair of the Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering.

 Recusal: Council member Karen Thomas-Brown of the College of Engineering from the executive session.

2:50 – 3:10 pm **O**

Overview of Program Proposal

Presented by Katie Hollenbach, Curriculum Specialist in the Graduate School Office of Academic Affairs.

Program Proposal—Graduate Certificate in Battery Engineering, Materials and Manufacturing College of Engineering Dean's Office

Council will consider a new program proposal from the College of Engineering Dean's Office to offer a Graduate Certificate in Battery Engineering, Materials and Manufacturing. The following guests will attend: Dean Nancy Allbritton of the College of Engineering, Dan Ratner, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs of the College of Engineering, Alberto Aliseda, Professor and Chair of Mechanical Engineering, Di Xiao, Professor and Chair of Materials Science and Engineering, James Carothers, Professor and Interim Chair of Chemical Engineering, and Stu Adler, Associate Professor of Chemical Engineering.

 Recusal: Council member Karen Thomas-Brown of the College of Engineering from the executive session.

^{2.} Vice Provost, Educational Outreach

^{3.} Chairs and Directors of Academic Units

^{4.} Chair, Faculty Senate

^{5.} Provost and Executive Vice President

^{7.} Deans of Colleges and Schools

^{8.} Secretary of the Faculty

^{9.} Graduate School Associate/Assistant Deans