

INTERDEPARTMENTAL MEMORANDUM

January 4, 2024

To: Katie Baird Professor—UW Tacoma

Anirban Basu Professor – School of Pharmacy

Sara Billey Professor – College of Arts & Sciences, Natural Sciences Division
Ann Bostrom Professor – Evans School of Public Policy & Governance

Dafney Blanca Dabach Associate Professor – College of Education

Huck Hodge Professor—College of Arts & Sciences, Arts Division

Alexander Hollmann Associate Professor—College of Arts & Sciences, Humanities Division

Bill Howe Associate Professor – Information School

Kalei Kanuha Associate Dean and Teaching Professor – School of Social Work

Wooyoung Kim Associate Professor – UW Bothell Kari Lerum Associate Professor – UW Bothell

Celia Lowe Professor – College of Arts & Sciences, Social Sciences Division
Anne Lund Associate Teaching Professor – School of Public Health
Kathryn Rogers Merlino Associate Professor – College of Built Environments

L. Monika Moskal Professor—College of the Environment
Tracy Popowics Associate Professor — School of Dentistry
Terry Price Associate Teaching Professor — School of Law

David Raible Professor – Graduate School Interdisciplinary Programs

Gim Seow Associate Professor – UW Tacoma
Jennifer Sonney Associate Professor – School of Nursing
Karen Thomas-Brown Associate Dean – College of Engineering

Dan Turner Associate Dean and Teaching Professor – Michael G. Foster School of Business

Edith Wang Assistant Dean and Associate Professor – School of Medicine

A.J. Balatico President – GPSS ex-officio Jackie Belanger UW Libraries – ex-officio

Marissa Heringer Senior Director, Academic Partnerships—Continuum College — ex-officio

Sarah Nguyen Vice President of Internal Affairs – GPSS – ex-officio

From: Joy Williamson-Lott Dean of the Graduate School

Kima Cargill Graduate School Council Chair, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs- Graduate School

Meeting will be held in Loew Hall 310 and by Zoom:

https://washington.zoom.us/j/98626171897

AGENDA

Graduate School Council for Thursday, January 4, 2024 2:30 pm to 4:00 pm

2:30 - 2:35 pm Call to Order and Land Acknowledgement

2:35 - 2:55 PM **Program Review: Astrobiology Program**

College of Arts & Sciences

Council will consider the academic program review of the Astrobiology Program. The following guests will attend: Dan Pollack, Divisional Dean of Natural Sciences in the College of Arts & Sciences, and Victoria Meadows, Director of the Astrobiology Program and Professor in the Department of Astronomy.

2:55 – 3:15 pm

Program Review: Department of Anthropology College of Arts & Sciences

Council will consider the academic program review of the Department of Anthropology. The following guests will attend: Andrea Woody, Divisional Dean of the Social Sciences in the College of Arts & Sciences, and Sven Haakanson, Department Chair and Professor in the Department of Anthropology.

• Recusal: Council member Professor Celia Lowe from the Department of Anthropology from the executive session.

3:15 - 3:20 pm

Overview of Program Proposal

Presented by Katie Hollenbach, Curriculum Specialist in the Graduate School Office of Academic Affairs.

3:20 – 3:55 pm

Program Proposal: Master of Engineering in Leadership and Systems Innovation

College of Engineering

Council will consider a program proposal from the College of Engineering for the stacked degree Master of Engineering in Leadership and Systems Innovation. A stacked degree includes embedded graduate certificates as described in Graduate School Policy 1.4. This is the first stacked degree proposal reviewed by Council. The following guests will attend: Ashis Banerjee, Associate Professor in Industrial & Systems Engineering and in Mechanical Engineering, Cynthia Chen, Interim Chair and Professor in Industrial & Systems Engineering and in Civil & Environmental Engineering, and Dan Ratner, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs in the College of Engineering.

• Recusal: Council member Karen Thomas-Brown of the College of Engineering from the executive session.

Informational copies to:

- 1. Ana Mari Cauce, President
- 2. Vice Provost, Educational Outreach
- 3. Chairs and Directors of Academic Units
- 4. Chair, Faculty Senate
- 5. Provost and Executive Vice President
- 6. Vice Provost for Research
- 7. Deans of Colleges and Schools
- 8. Secretary of the Faculty
- 9. Graduate School Associate/Assistant Deans