INTERDEPARTMENTAL MEMORANDUM

March 6, 2025

Kima Cargill

To:	Katie Baird	Professor—UW Tacoma—Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences		
	Sara Billey	Professor – College of Arts & Sciences, Natural Sciences Division		
	Ann Bostrom	Professor – Evans School of Public Policy & Governance		
	Dafney Blanca Dabach	Associate Professor – College of Education		
	Huck Hodge Alexander Hollmann Bill Howe	Professor—Arts & Sciences—Arts Division Associate Professor—Arts & Sciences—Humanities Division Associate Professor – Information School		
			Juhua Hu	Associate Professor – UW Tacoma—School of Engineering & Technology
			Kalei Kanuha	Associate Dean & Teaching Professor – School of Social Work
	Wooyoung Kim	Associate Professor – UW Bothell – School of STEM		
	Patricia Kuszler	Professor – School of Law		
	Kelly Lee	Professor – School of Pharmacy		
	Kari Lerum	Associate Professor – UW Bothell—Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences		
	Celia Lowe	Professor – Arts & Sciences – Social Sciences Division		
	Anne Lund	Teaching Professor – School of Public Health		
		Kathryn Rogers Merlino	Associate Professor – College of Built Environments	
		L. Monika Moskal	Professor—College of the Environment	
Tracy Popowics		Professor – School of Dentistry		
	David Raible	Professor – Graduate School Interdisciplinary Programs		
	Jennifer Sonney	Associate Professor– School of Nursing		
	Dan Turner	Associate Dean and Teaching Professor – Michael G. Foster School of Business		
	Edith Wang	Assistant Dean and Associate Professor-School of Medicine		
	Paul Yager	Professor– College of Engineering		
	Jackie Belanger	UW Libraries – ex-officio		
	Marissa Heringer	Senior Director, Academic Partnerships– Continuum College – ex-officio		
	Richard Schure	President – GPSS ex-officio		
From:	Joy Williamson-Lott	Dean of the Graduate School		

Meeting will be held in Loew Hall Conference Room 310 and by Zoom:

Graduate School Council Chair, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs- Graduate School

https://washington.zoom.us/j/98626171897

AGENDA

Graduate School Council for Thursday, March 6, 2025 2:30 pm to 4:00 pm

2:30 pm	Call to Order and Land Acknowledgement
2:30 – 3:00 pm	Conversation with Dean Joy Williamson-Lott The Graduate School Dean will visit with Council to solicit feedback regarding useful data in decision-making regarding student experiences and program health.
3:00 pm	Consent Agenda: Program Review Graduate Certificate in Second and Foreign Language Teaching The Graduate School Council will consider the program review of the Graduate Certificate in Second and Foreign Language Teaching as a consent agenda item. Please send any

questions you have about this review to <u>progrev@uw.edu</u> by March 4th at noon. If you believe this requires additional discussion, please let us know in email or in the meeting and we will remove the item from the consent agenda and place on the full agenda for the next regularly scheduled meeting.

3:00 – 3:20 pm **Program Proposal: Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science & Engineering College of Engineering**

Katie Hollenbach, Curriculum Specialist in the Graduate School Office of Academic Affairs, will provide an overview of the program proposal from the Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science & Engineering.

Council will consider a program proposal from the Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science & Engineering to offer a Graduate Certificate in Modern Artificial Intelligence Methods. The following guests will attend: Dan Ratner, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs in the College of Engineering, and Professor Dan Grossman, Vice Director in the Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science & Engineering.

3:20 – 3:30 pm Break

Please note that there will be a ten-minute break between agenda items to accommodate Dean Ritter's schedule.

3:30 – 4:00 pm **Program Review: School of Dentistry**

Council will consider the academic program review of the School of Dentistry. Dean André Ritter of the School of Dentistry will attend.

• Recusal: Council member Tracy Popowics will recuse from the executive session.

- 2. Vice Provost, Continuum College
- Chairs and Directors of Academic Units
 Chair, Faculty Senate
- 5. Provost and Executive Vice President
- 6. Vice Provost for Research
- 7. Deans of Colleges and Schools
- 8. Secretary of the Faculty
- 9. Graduate School Associate Deans