

INTERDEPARTMENTAL MEMORANDUM

March 7, 2024

To: Katie Baird Professor—UW Tacoma

Anirban Basu Professor – School of Pharmacy

Sara Billey Professor – College of Arts & Sciences, Natural Sciences Division
Ann Bostrom Professor – Evans School of Public Policy & Governance

Dafney Blanca Dabach Associate Professor – College of Education
Huck Hodge Professor — College of Arts & Sciences, Arts Division

Alexander Hollmann Associate Professor—College of Arts & Sciences, Humanities Division

Bill Howe Associate Professor – Information School

Kalei Kanuha Associate Dean and Teaching Professor – School of Social Work

Wooyoung Kim Associate Professor – UW Bothell Kari Lerum Associate Professor – UW Bothell

Celia LoweProfessor – College of Arts & Sciences, Social Sciences DivisionAnne LundAssociate Teaching Professor – School of Public HealthKathryn Rogers MerlinoAssociate Professor – College of Built Environments

L. Monika Moskal
 Professor—College of the Environment
 Tracy Popowics
 Associate Professor – School of Dentistry
 Terry Price
 Associate Teaching Professor – School of Law

David Raible Professor – Graduate School Interdisciplinary Programs

Gim Seow Associate Professor – UW Tacoma
Jennifer Sonney Associate Professor – School of Nursing
Karen Thomas-Brown Associate Dean – College of Engineering

Dan Turner Associate Dean and Teaching Professor – Michael G. Foster School of Business

Edith Wang Assistant Dean and Associate Professor – School of Medicine

A.J. Balatico President – GPSS ex-officio Jackie Belanger UW Libraries – ex-officio

Marissa Heringer Senior Director, Academic Partnerships—Continuum College — ex-officio

Sarah Nguyen Vice President of Internal Affairs – GPSS – ex-officio

From: Joy Williamson-Lott Dean of the Graduate School

Kima Cargill Graduate School Council Chair, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs- Graduate School

Meeting will be held in Loew Hall, Room 310, and by Zoom:

https://washington.zoom.us/j/98626171897

AGENDA

Graduate School Council for Thursday, March 7, 2024 2:30 pm to 4:00 pm

2:30 pm Call to Order and Land Acknowledgement

2:30 to 2:50 pm **Program Review: Programs in Health Management & Informatics**

School of Public Health

Council will consider the academic program review of the Programs in Health Management & Informatics. The following guests will attend: Dean Hilary Godwin of the School of Public Health, Neil Sehgal, Associate Professor and Director of the Master of Health Administration programs, Karima Lalani, Assistant Teaching Professor and Director of the Health Informatics and

Health Information Management programs, and Megha Ramaswamy, Professor and Chair of the Department of Health Systems and Population Health.

2:50 to 3:10 pm

Program Review: Department of Aeronautics & Astronautics College of Engineering

Council will consider the academic program review of the William E. Boeing Department of Aeronautics & Astronautics. The following guests will attend: Dean Nancy Allbritton of the College of Engineering and Kristi Morgansen, Department Chair and Professor in the Department of Aeronautics & Astronautics.

• Recusal: Council member Karen Thomas-Brown of the College of Engineering from the executive session.

3:10 pm

Overview of Program Proposal

Katie Hollenbach, Curriculum Specialist in the Graduate School Office of Academic Affairs, provides an overview of the program proposal from the Department of Materials Science and Engineering.

3:10 to 3:30 pm

Program Proposal: Graduate Certificate in Data Science in Materials Engineering

Department of Materials Science and Engineering College of Engineering

Council will consider a new program proposal from the Department of Materials Science and Engineering to offer a Graduate Certificate in Data Science in Materials Engineering. The following guests will join to discuss the proposal: Di Xiao, Professor and Chair of Materials Science and Engineering, Luna Huang, Associate Teaching Professor in Materials Science and Engineering, and Dan Ratner, Associate Dean of Academic Affairs in the College of Engineering.

 Recusal: Council member Karen Thomas-Brown of the College of Engineering from the executive session.

Informational copies to:

- 1. Ana Mari Cauce, President
- 2. Vice Provost, Educational Outreach
- 3. Chairs and Directors of Academic Units
- 4. Chair, Faculty Senate
- 5. Provost and Executive Vice President
- 6. Vice Provost for Research
- 7. Deans of Colleges and Schools
- 8. Secretary of the Faculty
- 9. Graduate School Associate/Assistant Deans