

INTERDEPARTMENTAL MEMORANDUM

May 16, 2024

To:	Katie Baird	Professor—UW Tacoma
	Anirban Basu	Professor – School of Pharmacy
	Sara Billey	Professor – College of Arts & Sciences, Natural Sciences Division
	Ann Bostrom	Professor – Evans School of Public Policy & Governance
	Dafney Blanca Dabach	Associate Professor – College of Education
	Huck Hodge	Professor—College of Arts & Sciences, Arts Division
	Alexander Hollmann	Associate Professor—College of Arts & Sciences, Humanities Division
	Bill Howe	Associate Professor – Information School
	Kalei Kanuha	Associate Dean and Teaching Professor- School of Social Work
	Wooyoung Kim	Associate Professor – UW Bothell
	Kari Lerum	Associate Professor – UW Bothell
	Celia Lowe	Professor – College of Arts & Sciences, Social Sciences Division
	Anne Lund	Associate Teaching Professor – School of Public Health
	Kathryn Rogers Merlino	Associate Professor – College of Built Environments
	L. Monika Moskal	Professor—College of the Environment
	Tracy Popowics	Associate Professor – School of Dentistry
	Terry Price	Associate Teaching Professor – School of Law
	David Raible	Professor – Graduate School Interdisciplinary Programs
	Gim Seow	Associate Professor – UW Tacoma
	Jennifer Sonney	Associate Professor– School of Nursing
	Karen Thomas-Brown	Associate Dean – College of Engineering
	Dan Turner	Associate Dean and Teaching Professor – Michael G. Foster School of Business
	Edith Wang	Assistant Dean and Associate Professor- School of Medicine
	A.J. Balatico	President – GPSS ex-officio
	Jackie Belanger	UW Libraries – ex-officio
	Marissa Heringer	Senior Director, Academic Partnerships– Continuum College – ex-officio
	Sarah Nguyen	Vice President of Internal Affairs – GPSS – ex-officio
From:	Joy Williamson-Lott	Dean of the Graduate School
	Kima Cargill	Graduate School Council Chair, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs– Graduate School

Meeting will be held in Loew Hall Conference Room 310 and by Zoom:

https://washington.zoom.us/j/98626171897

AGENDA Graduate School Council for Thursday, May 16, 2024 2:30 pm to 4:00 pm

- 2:30 pm Call to Order and Land Acknowledgement
- 2:30 to 3:00 pm **Consent Agenda: Five-Year Report** Council will consider the continuing status of the following program: Graduate Certificate in Historic Preservation in the College of Built Environments.

Overview of Program Proposal

Katie Hollenbach, Curriculum Specialist in the Graduate School Office of Academic Affairs, provides an overview of the program proposal from the College of Engineering Dean's Office.

Program Proposal: Master of Science in Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning for Engineering

College of Engineering Dean's Office

Council will consider a new program proposal from the College of Engineering Dean's Office to offer a stacked Master of Science in Artificial Intelligence and Machine Learning for Engineering. The following guests will attend: Dean Nancy Allbritton of the College of Engineering, Dan Ratner, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs in the College of Engineering, Alberto Aliseda, Department Chair, Mechanical Engineering, James Carothers, Department Interim Chair of Chemical Engineering, Michelle Hickner, Lecturer and Curriculum & Instruction Lead for the AI Initiative, and Dave Beck, Associate Research Professor in Chemical Engineering and Director Research in the eScience Institute.

• Council member Karen Thomas-Brown will recuse from the executive session.

3:00 to 3:20 pm **Overview of Program Proposal**

Katie Hollenbach, Curriculum Specialist in the Graduate School Office of Academic Affairs, provides an overview of the program proposal from the Evans School of Public Policy & Governance.

Program Proposal: Graduate Certificate in Building Resilient Local Governments

Evans School of Public Policy & Governance

Council will consider a proposal from the Evans School of Public Policy & Governance to offer a Graduate Certificate in Building Resilient Local Governments. The following guests will attend: Dean Jodi Sandfort of the Evans School, Steve Page, Associate Professor in the Evans School, and Becky Corriell, Director of Professional Learning Programs in the Evans School.

• Council member Ann Bostrom will recuse from the executive session.

3:20 to 3:30 pm Graduate School Council Year-in-Review

Informational copies to:

1. Ana Mari Cauce, President

- 2. Vice Provost, Educational Outreach
- 3. Chairs and Directors of Academic Units
- Chair, Faculty Senate
 Provost and Executive Vice President
- 6. Vice Provost for Research
- 7. Deans of Colleges and Schools
- 8. Secretary of the Faculty
- 9. Graduate School Associate/Assistant Deans