INTERDEPARTMENTAL MEMORANDUM

November 21, 2024

To: Katie Baird Professor—UW Tacoma—Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences

Sara Billey Professor – College of Arts & Sciences, Natural Sciences Division
Ann Bostrom Professor – Evans School of Public Policy & Governance

Dafney Blanca Dabach Associate Professor – College of Education
Huck Hodge Professor—Arts & Sciences—Arts Division

Alexander Hollmann Associate Professor—Arts & Sciences—Humanities Division

Bill Howe Associate Professor – Information School

Juhua Hu Associate Professor – UW Tacoma—School of Engineering & Technology

Kalei Kanuha Associate Dean & Teaching Professor – School of Social Work

Wooyoung Kim Associate Professor – UW Bothell – School of STEM

Patricia Kuszler Professor – School of Law
Kelly Lee Professor – School of Pharmacy

Kari Lerum Associate Professor – UW Bothell—Interdisciplinary Arts & Sciences

Celia Lowe Professor – Arts & Sciences — Social Sciences Division
Anne Lund Teaching Professor – School of Public Health
Kathryn Rogers Merlino Associate Professor – College of Built Environments

L. Monika Moskal Professor—College of the Environment
Tracy Popowics Professor – School of Dentistry

Tracy Popowics Professor – School of Dentistry
David Raible Professor – Graduate School Interdisciplinary Programs

Jennifer Sonney Associate Professor— School of Nursing

Dan Turner Associate Dean and Teaching Professor – Michael G. Foster School of Business

Edith Wang Assistant Dean and Associate Professor – School of Medicine

Paul Yager Professor- College of Engineering

Jackie Belanger UW Libraries – ex-officio

Marissa Heringer Senior Director, Academic Partnerships—Continuum College — ex-officio

Richard Schure President – GPSS ex-officio

From: Joy Williamson-Lott Dean of the Graduate School

Kima Cargill Graduate School Council Chair, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs— Graduate School

Meeting will be held in Loew Hall Conference Room 310 and by Zoom:

https://washington.zoom.us/j/98626171897

AGENDA

Graduate School Council for Thursday, November 21, 2024 2:30 pm to 4:00 pm

2:30 pm **Call to Order and Land Acknowledgement**

2:30-2:45 pm **Discussion with Graduate School Dean**

Dean Joy Williamson-Lott will attend Council for a discussion about creating guidance for graduate students on the effective and responsible use of

Artificial Intelligence (AI).

2:45-3:05 pm **Program Review: Department of Microbiology**

School of Medicine

Council will consider the academic program review of the Department of Microbiology. The following guests will attend: Shelly Sakiyama-Elbert, Vice Dean of Research and Graduate Education in the School of Medicine, and David Sherman, Professor and Chair of the Department of Microbiology.

 Recusal: Council member Edith Wang, Assistant Dean in the School of Medicine, will recuse from the executive session.

3:05-3:25 pm **Program Proposal: Department of Laboratory Medicine & Pathology School of Medicine**

Katie Hollenbach, Curriculum Specialist in the Graduate School Office of Academic Affairs, will provide an overview of the program proposal from the Department of Laboratory Medicine & Pathology.

Council will consider a program proposal from the Department of Laboratory Medicine & Pathology to offer a Master of Science in Anatomic Pathology. The following guests will attend: Suzanne Allen, Vice Dean for Academic, Rural, and Regional Affairs in the School of Medicine, Stephanie Frazon, Assistant Professor in the Department of Laboratory Medicine & Pathology, and Geoffrey Baird, Professor and Chair of the Department of Laboratory Medicine & Pathology.

 Recusal: Council member Edith Wang, Assistant Dean in the School of Medicine, will recuse from the executive session.

^{3.} Chairs and Directors of Academic Units

^{4.} Chair, Faculty Senate

^{5.} Provost and Executive Vice President